Friday, March 15, 2019

Anthem Book Review: New Year, New Published Story!

Anthem Book Review: New Year, New Published Story!:                                                    Good Morning My Fellow Literary Lovers, I wanted to share the good news with you...

New Year, New Published Story!



                                                  Image result for Published

Good Morning My Fellow Literary Lovers,

I wanted to share the good news with you. I have had my work published in an online literary journal, Rigorous. I welcome you to take a read. The story is titled, The Cave. 

Here is a little back-story to how my story began. I began working on the story in 2016. It was brought on by my mother making a couch into a bed for a family member that was staying over. My mother made the couch look so inviting, she tightly placed the sheets across the couch cushions, she snugly tucked in the corners of the bed sheet over the couch's body, she folded back the sheet to reveal a beautiful hotel looking bed/couch, and she fluffed the pillows into clouds of welcoming heaven. I remember thinking how inviting it looked and thought "what if the person that was going to sleep there wasn't coming to stay over on good terms, what if they had been abused and was running from their abuser. And that is how, "The Cave" was born, after many titles, many edits, here is a piece of that tale.


The actual story is much longer, but I had to edit it to meet the submission requirements. 

Enjoy!



http://www.rigorous-mag.com/ 



Tuesday, January 8, 2019

First Book of the Year- River Queens

River Queens: Saucy boat, stout males, spotted dog, America





                                         Dust jacket  for  River Queens: Saucy boat, stout mates, spotted dog, America

“Everyone wants to be invited.” Grandmother insisted in answer to my protests about inviting a kindergarten nemesis to my fifth birthday party. “Not everyone wants to come, but everyone wants to be invited.”
My responsibility is to invite everyone to participate in River Queens. My guest’s responsibility is to decide if the offer is right for them. Not everyone wants to read about two gay men bounding across the hinterlands in a fabulous vintage yacht.
Alexander  Watson – 18 October 2018
I want to say a huge thank you to Alexander Watson for inviting me to take part on his journey by reading River Queens. I received an advance copy of River Queens, courtesy of Mr. Watson. I am about halfway through the book and I must say it has been a peaceful and interesting sail.
Thus far, the best of 2019. Eight days into the new year, 139 pages into River Queens and I am smitten. Smitten with Watson's detailed, humorous and honest account of going outside the lines of life and truly LIVING.
I love his voice. Watson is a fine storyteller. River Queens has all my favorite things in life, rivers, an ever present and supporting mother, dogs, gay men and risk taking.

I look forward to reviewing this novel. As one can clearly tell  just by this introduction, I am completely in love with this memoir. Grab a copy at Amazon or order below from Watson's website and read with me. It is a reading journey I am confident you do not want to miss. Start off 2019 the right way, reading River Queens with Anthem Book Review. 

Order River Queens here:  https://www.riverqueens.us/

Francine
@AnthemBookReview

Follow Anthem Book Review on Twitter & Instagram for more updates on books we are reading!


Saturday, September 22, 2018

Madera Reads Book Club


September 2018 

Madera Reads Community Book Club will meet for the final book discussion of Fahrenheit 451 on Saturday, September 29 at 6:00 p.m. at Starbucks on Howard Road. Join us for a wonderful discussion.

October 2018




Madera Reads October book selection is the powerful  memoir,  "Men We Reaped"  by Jesmyn Ward.

Come read with Madera Reads.

“In real life, I looked at my father and mother and understood dimly that it was harder to be a girl, that boys had it easier. Here, boys could buy and ride motorcycles and come and leave when they wanted to and exude a kind of cool while they stood shirtless at the edge of the street, talking and laughing with one another, passing a beer around, smoking cigarettes. Meanwhile, the women I knew were working even when they weren’t at work: cooking, washing loads of clothes, hanging them to dry, and cleaning the house. There was no time for them to just relax and be.” ― Jesmyn Ward




Written by Francine

Saturday, July 21, 2018

Local Writer at Madera Reads Book Club



Madera  Reads Book Club met today for our July Book Discussion. In attendance was local author, Glenna Jarvis. It was wonderful to have a book discussion with the writer of the book present. The attendance of Jarvis provided  a deeper understanding and appreciation into the books  main characters. 

It was also interesting to discover that the town of Borden, which is where Sandmann is set, was once an actual place in Madera.  

Borden was located in the southeast area of Madera, near the Southern Pacific Railroad. Maybe it was once a thriving town; but today, any lasting traces of a bustling community have all but disappeared. The only thing that remains are a few headstones of deceased Chinese railroad workers.

Thanks to Jarvis, Borden is also the town where reporter, Hannah Monakee is living her best fiction life. I find it is absolutely wonderful that local writer Glenna Jarvis incorporated the town of Madera and its history in Sandmann.

Jarvis is an interesting person , filled with amazing and entertaining stories from her career as a crime beat reporter and time spent documenting and reporting on cases for the Madera Tribune that would make most close their eyes in fear.  

But just like Hannah Monakee, Glenna is not done reporting.

Jarvis followed up Sandmann with Free Fall- A Hannah Monakee Mystery.  All the delightful and tough characters from Sandmann make an appearance in the book, Detective Morales, Quint, and Oz.

So, if you're looking for a good read sprinkled with some local flair, The Hannah Monakee Mystery books are great place to start. Sandmann and Free Fall are available now on Amazon.

Madera Reads will read The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho in August. 
We welcome YOU to come read with us and discuss great works of literature together. 

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

July Book Club Pick- Sandmann



Madera Reads Community Book Club's July pick is Sandmann, by local writer, Glenna Jarvis.  Ms. Jarvis is a former crime reporter for The Madera Tribune with over 15 years of experience in investigative journalism.  

Writers often write what they know. So, it is no surprise that Jarvis' debut novel introduces readers to crime reporter Hannah Monakee.

Monakee is a wide-eyed delightful character with a knack for piecing together a good story. Things take a dire turn, when Hannah finds out she may be the killers next victim. In a race to save her life and help find the killer, Hannah's investigative skills kick in. Sandmann is a thrilling read. It is filled with mystery and will keep you captivated and rooting for Hannah page after page.  

Madera Reads is so thankful that Ms. Jarvis is  local writer, hailing from the Madera area. This means that our book club will not only read and discuss Sandmann, but we are also fortunate enough to have Ms. Jarvis in attendance at our Book Discussion on  Saturday, July 21, 2018 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.. (see attached flyer for more information)

We welcome all Central Valley readers to join Madera Reads for a book discussion of Sandmann. Come out and support local writers and their craft by attending Madera Reads Community Book Club.

For more information on the works of Glenna Jarvis and for information on where to purchase her novels follow the link provided.  http://www.glennajarvis.com/?p=1



Happy Reading


Written by Francine

Monday, July 2, 2018

Local Book Club, Sharing the love of Reading







In my local town of Madera, California, I, along with the Friends of Madera County Library have started a book club. The book club was started in February. Our name is Madera Reads Community Book Club. 

We meet once a month, sometimes two, depending on how long our book discussions last. We meet once at the Library and another, at a local coffee shop in the community.

I have been an avid reader my entire life. I hope that the book club helps to find local readers that want to read, fellowship and discuss great works of literature with their community, as well as highlight great writers.  Thus far, we have read some pretty great books. I've attached the flyers from past book discussions, in case you're interested in reading some of Madera Reads picks!




I highly recommend the following; February book was, Manana Means Heaven, by the talented and beautiful - Tim Z. Hernandez, March book was Idaho, a debut novel by Emily Ruskovich, and April book was, We the Animals, a haunting, gorgeous story written by Justin Torres (We the Animals is soon to be released as a motion picture).

Our last two books, May's book club choice, Here Lies Memory by Doug Rice and June's book club choice, Into the Beautiful North by Luis Alberto Urrea, I cannot get the characters out of my mind. I am working on short blurbs about all the books we have so far read. 




I encourage you all to share  your love of reading within your community. Start a local book club, find like minded people. Keep reading and a love for literature- ALIVE! 

Read and be Happy!

Francine
anthemwritingservice@gmail.com
(559) 273-9627